[세미나] [전기‧정보세미나3] “Semiconductor Packaging toward Sustainable Mobility"

2023-09-18l Hit 139

연사: 서울대학교 전기∙정보공학부 정덕균 교수님

일시: 2023년 9월 21일 (목), 17:00 ~ 18:00

장소: 301동 118호




In all high-performance electronic devices, the bottleneck that determines performance occurs in the interconnect that connects the chip to the outside. According to Rent's law, as a chip becomes larger, the number of pins connected to other chips inevitably increases rapidly, which is why HBM memory that transmits a large amount of data in AI systems has come into the spotlight these days. When the size of the chips becomes too large to handle, the chips are separated into multiple pieces, called chiplets and even in this case, the interconnection between the chiplets determines the performance of the system. Therefore, such high-speed connection technology becomes important, and package technology that connects multiple chiplets externally also requires advanced technology. I forecast the history and development direction of interconnect technology and present the research achievements of the Integrated Systems Design Laboratory which I supervised.

Professor Emeritus Deog-Kyoon Jeong completed his bachelor's and master's degrees in electronic engineering at Seoul National University and graduated from U.C. Berkeley in 1989. Since his appointment at Seoul National University in September 1991, he has conducted education and research in the field of electronic circuits for 32 years. He served as the director of Inter-University Semiconductor Research Center, president of the Institute of Semiconductor Engineers, member of the National Academy of Engineering of Korea, IEEE Fellow, and Distinguished Professor of Seoul National University. During his tenure, he received Young Engineer Award from the National Academy of Engineering of Korea, Ho-Am Engineering Award from the Samsung Ho-Am Foundation, and Hwangjo Medal of Merit from the Ministry of Science and ICT, etc. He was recently selected as the first recipient in Korea to receive the 2024 Donald O. Pederson Award, which is awarded by IEEE to researchers in the field of solid-state circuits.

담당교수: 전기·정보공학부 홍용택 / 문의: 이채영(