Emeritus professor Min-koo Han, elected as the 9th president of the Korean Academy of Science and Technology (YONHAPNEWS,20181202)

2018-12-14l Hit 273


The Korean Academy of Science and Technology (KAST, president Myung-Chul Lee), which is an institute for scholars in the field of science and technology, announced on the 2nd that emeritus professor of SNU Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Min-Koo Han(Fellow) will become its next president.

KAST held its ‘2018 Biannual Meeting’ at the L-Tower in Yangjae-Dong, Seoul, on the 30th of last month and appointed Doctor Han as the 9th president. Doctor Han was chosen by 485 fellow members of KAST at the election in June~July.

While Doctor Han was a professor at the State University of New York, he pioneered research in ‘Hydrogenated Amorphous Silicon Thin Film Transistor’ and ‘Hydrogenated Amorphous Silicon Thin Film Solar Cell’, making him a first-generation researcher in this field. He is a distinguished scholar of research and development in Thin Film Transistors(TFT) known to be the core technology in flat panel display.

He received several awards including Order of Science and Technology Merit of Changjo(Creation) in 2007 and Korea Best Scientist Award in 2010. He also served as president at the Committee of Deans of Korea’s College of Engineering, committee member at the National Science and Technology Commission, and president at the Committee on Green Growth under Ministry of Knowledge Economy.

The term of office will be for three years starting from next year March. The retirement and inauguration ceremony for the 8th and 9th president will be held in February 28th of 2019 at the auditorium in the KAST building.

Translated by Kyungjin Lee, English Editor of Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering,